It’s Three Days Before RTD2…

Reading Time: 10-15 mins
Enjoy my work? Please consider supporting via Ko-fi 🙂

…and one of my friends from uni is reviewing every Doctor Who episode that he can get his hands on.

He’s writing them in a timey-wimey order. I’m reading them in a timey-wimey order.

For the uninitiated, Doctor Who is the world’s longest-running sci-fi series, and a staple of British TV in particular. Tomorrow – 23rd November, to be clear (I have readers on several different time zones) – marks 60 years since it first aired.

The show follows the adventures of the Doctor, plus various companions. A Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey, the Doctor doesn’t die when their body gives out. Instead, they regenerate into a new body… and the role itself moves from one actor to the next.

Or, as Whovians found out thirteen months ago, to a previous.

Yes, it’s the return of David Tennant, along with Russell T. Davies – and this twenty-something couldn’t be happier. I was the perfect viewing age when Davies (one of the most talented screenwriters working today) brought this family show back in 2005 (although, interestingly, he said that the upcoming specials will be more mature…?).

I’ve been watching ever since, from Eccleston to Tennant to, eventually, Tennant again.

As has Luke, who’s gone further. He also discovered ‘Classic Who‘ (the first eight Doctors), and is bringing that knowledge into his reviewing challenge – which I am loving, because I’ve seen literally one episode from that era, and that was at least a decade ago. All I remember is Jon Pertwee in a hospital bed.

Today, anyway, I’m sharing a post on Series 3. As far as we know, it’s Donna, not Martha, who’s returning as a companion – but Martha’s series was a major moment in my own storytelling journey. The Shakespeare episode, for example, was my first proper introduction to the Bard.

I’ve always loved a strong setting, a good map. But, not knowing the Classic era, it was ‘New Who‘ that brought me my first glimpses of Gallifrey. And I mean glimpses: with Nine and Ten emotionally reeling from the Time War, I learned hardly anything about the planet, to begin with – only that it was where the Doctor was from.

Consequently, Gallifrey was a Very Mysterious Place.

I longed to know more.

I first gained more in 2007 – with an incredible piece from composer Murray Gold (who’s also returning!) called ‘This is Gallifrey: Our Childhood, Our Home’.

So, here is Luke’s review of the glorious triple series finale. I can confirm that the quality holds up in more recent years – I bingewatched RTD’s first era (as well as what was then available of Jodie Whittaker’s) during lockdown.

Here’s an example of why so many Whovians just can’t wait for the upcoming anniversary specials.


Warning! Spoilers abound – and, since this is a reblog, please note that the following link does not open in a new tab.

3 thoughts on “It’s Three Days Before RTD2…

    1. Lol thank you – I am extremely excited for the specials (and the new season – Fifteen’s theme sounds like so much fun!) 🙂

      As for blogging, it’s mostly just experience – have a look in my ‘BLOG BY MONTH/YEAR’ menu and you can see how all over the place I was when I started out here on WordPress (same with my early posts on Medium, come to think of it) 😀

      Like

Leave a comment