August Admin: Explaining the Tags

Reading Time: 5 mins and under

I’ve nearly finished my current requests. They’ve all been about this blog: checking that the links work, making navigation clearer, dedicating pieces properly, and, as seen in my most recent blog series, my thoughts on types of publishers for smaller work, with examples from my own experience.

The last two and the first one are complete! All the links should work now, to the best of my knowledge (if you run into any problems, just let me know). The only thing now is about that second request: navigation. Today’s post, then, is a little word about all the tags I’ve recently installed on this website. I’ve played around with them quite a bit, so here is a quick guide…

Art and Literature

Anything that’s prose, poetry, or script is tagged under its writer’s name, artworks (though none yet) under the artist’s. Games are tagged under the name of the company who made them.

  • Prose Writer(s): ‘The Brontës’.
  • Poetry Writer: ‘Amy Gerstler’.
  • Script Writer: ‘William Shakespeare’.
  • Game Company: ‘Nintendo’.

Screen

AKA, film and tv. These are usually tagged under their own names, unless someone who works across several productions is involved. Then, I add the tv channel or streaming platform I found them on (where applicable). Superhero stuff also includes company names. For example:

  • Film/TV name: ‘Stargirl’*, ‘Attack the Block’.
  • Someone who works across several productions: ‘David Attenborough’.
  • I found Film/TV on: ‘Amazon Prime’, ‘Disney+’. ‘Channel Four’ refers to all the channels owned by Channel Four Televisions Corporation, not just its eponymous channel.
  • Superhero: ‘DC’, ‘Marvel’, in separate tags.
  • Other: ‘Minions’ is on its own; I have my own copy.

*Stargirl‘s second series has just begun, and there was a subtle Loki reference in Episode 1. I don’t know if it was intentional, but I apppreciated it all the same!

Publications

Magazines, newspapers, journals etc. follow the same format as ‘Screen’ – i.e. they’re tagged under their own names. This applies regardless of whether the publication is of fiction or non-fiction: ‘Lucent Dreaming’, ‘Reflex Fiction and Press’, ‘The Everyday Magazine’.

Other Tags

The rest are miscellaneous. Some are particular (the various ‘Blog Series’ and ‘Writing Craft’ ones) while others are more general (‘Volunteering’). Sometimes, they’ll refer to only a small part of whatever blog post they appear in; other times, they’ll be intended to label that blog post’s wider theme(s).


Aaaand that’s it. I’ve only just set this tag system up; it can probably be improved. This is simply how it is right now. If you have any suggestions about it, or suggestions in general, just let me know 🙂


Image made with Canva

Leave a comment